Shingle Prices 2026: Manufacturer Price Increases & Freight Surcharges
Last 90 days: no shingle price increase took effect, plus 5 freight surcharges (median $500 per truckload). The last increase was Atlas (Jul 1, 2026, up to 10%). Next 90 days: Owens Corning (Oct 19, 2026, $300 → $350 per truckload surcharge).
Asphalt shingle price increases and freight surcharges announced by GAF, Owens Corning, CertainTeed, IKO, Atlas, Tamko and other roofing manufacturers: 49 letters on file, each linked to the original. These are list-price changes, not retail prices per bundle.
Shingle price increases by manufacturer since January 2025
Stated list-price increases that have taken effect since January 1, 2025, one line per effective date. Distributors often post the same increase under slightly different names, ranges or dates, so two dates a few weeks apart can be one increase: open the letters to check. What you pay depends on your distributor and your agreement.
| Manufacturer | Latest increase in effect | Increases since Jan 2025 | Latest freight surcharge | Next change |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GAF | 6-9%, 6%-10% Jun 1, 2026 |
Apr 1, 2025 6–10% Apr 15, 2026 $400/shipment, 5-8% Jun 1, 2026 6-9%, 6%-10% Jul 1, 2026 see letter |
$500 per shipment (Oct 5, 2026) | – |
| Owens Corning | 6-9%, $6.00-$8.04 Jun 1, 2026 |
Apr 1, 2025 7–10% Oct 1, 2025 see letter Apr 1, 2026 5-8% May 11, 2026 5-9% Jun 1, 2026 6-9%, $6.00-$8.04 |
$300 → $350 per truckload (Oct 19, 2026) | Oct 19, 2026 · $300 → $350 per truckload surcharge |
| CertainTeed | up to 10% Jun 1, 2026 |
Apr 1, 2025 up to 10%, approximately 10% Apr 15, 2026 up to 8%, $400/truckload Jun 1, 2026 up to 10% |
$500 per truckload (Oct 1, 2026) | – |
| IKO | 6%-9% Jun 1, 2026 |
Apr 1, 2025 6–10% Apr 15, 2026 5% - 8% Apr 23, 2026 see letter Jun 1, 2026 6%-9% |
$500–$900 per truckload (Oct 5, 2026) | – |
| Atlas | up to 10% Jul 1, 2026 |
Apr 1, 2025 approximately 7-10% Apr 1, 2026 5-8% May 18, 2026 5-8% Jul 1, 2026 up to 10% |
$500 per truckload (Sep 21, 2026) | – |
| Tamko | up to 9% Jun 8, 2026 |
Mar 17, 2025 6–10% Mar 23, 2026 4-5% Jun 8, 2026 up to 9% |
– | – |
| Malarkey | up to 10% May 18, 2026 |
May 1, 2025 up to 5% Apr 1, 2026 up to 8% May 18, 2026 up to 10% |
$450 per truckload (Sep 17, 2026) | – |
| PABCO | up to 8% Jun 1, 2026 |
May 1, 2026 up to 8% Jun 1, 2026 up to 8% |
– | – |
Taking effect in the next 90 days (1)
| Effective | Brand | Products | Increase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 19, 2026 next 30 days |
Owens Corning | Residential Transportation Surcharge Increase |
Surcharge $300 → $350 per truckload | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
How to protect a roofing quote
- Check each letter's effective date and whether the new price applies to orders placed or orders shipped after it.
- For jobs already sold, order or lock in shingles before the effective date.
- For jobs that start after an announced increase, quote at the new price or include a material price escalation clause.
- Freight surcharges are charged per truckload or shipment, so they weigh more on small orders.
Frequently asked questions
How much are shingle prices going up in 2026?
22 shingle letters effective in 2026 state a percentage. The median stated increase is 7.8%, and the middle half fall between 6.5% and 8% (a range like "5-8%" counts at its midpoint). Many letters say "up to", so a given product can go up by less.
Which shingle manufacturers raised prices in 2026?
GAF: Apr 15, 2026 ($400/shipment, 5-8%), Jun 1, 2026 (6-9%, 6%-10%), Jul 1, 2026; Owens Corning: Apr 1, 2026 (5-8%), May 11, 2026 (5-9%), Jun 1, 2026 (6-9%, $6.00-$8.04); CertainTeed: Apr 15, 2026 (up to 8%, $400/truckload), Jun 1, 2026 (up to 10%); IKO: Apr 15, 2026 (5% - 8%), Apr 23, 2026, Jun 1, 2026 (6%-9%); Atlas: Apr 1, 2026 (5-8%), May 18, 2026 (5-8%), Jul 1, 2026 (up to 10%); Tamko: Mar 23, 2026 (4-5%), Jun 8, 2026 (up to 9%); Malarkey: Apr 1, 2026 (up to 8%), May 18, 2026 (up to 10%); PABCO: May 1, 2026 (up to 8%), Jun 1, 2026 (up to 8%).
When do shingle price increases take effect?
Most often in April (15), June (9), May (5), counting every shingle increase on file. 68% take effect on the 1st of a month. Read each letter for its terms: many apply the new price to orders shipped on or after the effective date.
What is a shingle freight surcharge?
A flat charge per truckload or shipment on top of the shingle price, to cover fuel and transportation. 12 shingle surcharge notices are on file; the stated per-truckload amounts run from $350 to $900.
Is this the price per bundle or per square?
No. These are manufacturers' list-price changes as announced to distributors and contractors. What you pay per bundle or square depends on your distributor, your region and your agreement, so use the percentages to adjust quotes and confirm prices with your supplier.
Shingle freight and transportation surcharges (12)
| Effective | Brand | Products | Increase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 19, 2026 next 30 days |
Owens Corning | Residential Transportation Surcharge Increase |
Surcharge $300 → $350 per truckload | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Oct 5, 2026 | GAF | Residential Transportation Surcharge Increase |
Surcharge $500 per shipment | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Oct 5, 2026 | IKO | Asphalt products Transportation Surcharge Increase |
Surcharge $500–$900 per truckload | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Oct 1, 2026 | CertainTeed | Roofing Products | Surcharge $500 per truckload | letter · Gulfeagle Supply letter · Gulfeagle Supply letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Sep 21, 2026 | Atlas | Shingles, Underlayments | Surcharge $500 per truckload | letter · ABC Supply letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Sep 17, 2026 | Malarkey | Roofing Products | Surcharge $450 per truckload | letter · ABC Supply |
| Jul 8, 2026 | Malarkey | Roofing Products | Surcharge $350 per truckload | letter · ABC Supply letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Jun 29, 2026 | GAF | Price Escalator & Freight Surcharge | Surcharge $850 per truckload | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| May 15, 2026 | GAF | Streetbond products | Surcharge $450 | letter · ABC Supply |
| Apr 20, 2026 | Atlas | Roof Shingle Products | Surcharge $400 per truckload | letter · ABC Supply |
| Nov 1, 2025 | Atlas | has announced a price increase due to the tariffs of approximately $5.00 per roll tariff surcharge on Summit and Gorilla Guard Synthetic Underlayment. We will adjust our prices … | Surcharge $5.00 | Universal Supply |
| date not stated | Atlas | Freight Surcharge Increase | Surcharge see letter | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
All shingle price letters (49)
| Effective | Brand | Products | Increase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 19, 2026 next 30 days |
Owens Corning | Residential Transportation Surcharge Increase |
Surcharge $300 → $350 per truckload | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Oct 5, 2026 | GAF | Residential Transportation Surcharge Increase |
Surcharge $500 per shipment | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Oct 5, 2026 | IKO | Asphalt products Transportation Surcharge Increase |
Surcharge $500–$900 per truckload | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Oct 1, 2026 | CertainTeed | Roofing Products | Surcharge $500 per truckload | letter · Gulfeagle Supply letter · Gulfeagle Supply letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Sep 21, 2026 | Atlas | Shingles, Underlayments | Surcharge $500 per truckload | letter · ABC Supply letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Sep 17, 2026 | Malarkey | Roofing Products | Surcharge $450 per truckload | letter · ABC Supply |
| Jul 8, 2026 | Malarkey | Roofing Products | Surcharge $350 per truckload | letter · ABC Supply letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Jul 1, 2026 | Atlas | Roof Shingle Products; Low Slope Roofing | up to 10% | letter · ABC Supply letter · ABC Supply |
| Jul 1, 2026 | GAF FT Solutions | Roofing Accessories | see letter | letter · ABC Supply |
| Jun 29, 2026 | GAF | Price Escalator & Freight Surcharge | Surcharge $850 per truckload | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Jun 8, 2026 | TAMKO | Residential Roofing Products; Residential roofing & waterproofing (incl. new construction / builder / multifamily) TAMKO - Bulletin Price Increase Residential Roofing New Construction Builder Multi Family - Effective June 8, 2026 |
up to 9% | letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors |
| Jun 1, 2026 | CertainTeed | Residential Roofing; Residential roofing (incl. multifamily / new construction builder) Certainteed Roofing Products Price Increase Announcement - Effective June 1, 2026 |
up to 10% | letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| Jun 1, 2026 | GAF | Residential Roofing Products; Residential Roofing; Shingles & roofing accessories (incl. Timbersteel, MasterFlow, FT Synthetic; new construction / multifamily) GAF - Residential Roofing Price Increase - Effective June 1, 2026 |
6-9%; 6–9% | letter · ABC Supply letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors |
| Jun 1, 2026 | GAF & CertainTeed | CertainTeed and GAF are announcing a price increase of 6%-10% on all Shingles and Roofing Accessories, effective June 1st, 2026 ... | 6%-10% | letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Jun 1, 2026 | GAF Residential | shingles and roofing products has announced a price increase of approximately 6-9% on all shingles and roofing products. We will adjust our prices effective with shipments on June 1, 2026. |
approximately 6-9% | Universal Supply |
| Jun 1, 2026 | IKO | Residential roofing products; Residential roofing products & accessories IKO Price Increase - Effective June 1, 2026 |
6%-9%; 6–9% | letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors |
| Jun 1, 2026 | Owens Corning | Roofing products; Roofing Products; Shingles & roofing accessories Owens Corning - Price Increase Announcement - Effective June 1, 2026 |
6-9%; $6.00-$8.04; 6–9% | letter · ABC Supply letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| Jun 1, 2026 | PABCO Roofing Products | Shingle and accessory PABCO Roofing Products is implementing a price increase of up to 8% on all shingle and accessory products effective June 1st, 2026... |
up to 8% | letter · ABC Supply letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Jun 1, 2026 | QXO | Residential products (QXO company-wide) Shingle products will increase up to 9%, while siding, accessories, and other complementary building products will increase up to 10–12%. |
up to 9%, up to 10–12% | letter · QXO (formerly Beacon) |
| May 18, 2026 | Atlas | Roof Shingle Products Atlas Shingle and Accessories Price Increase - Effective May 18, 2026 |
5-8% | letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| May 18, 2026 | Malarkey | Residential Roofing Products; Residential roofing products Malarkey External Sales Announcement US Price Increase - Effective May 18, 2026 |
up to 10% | letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport |
| May 15, 2026 | GAF | Streetbond products | Surcharge $450 | letter · ABC Supply |
| May 11, 2026 | Owens Corning | Synthetic Underlayment | 5-9% | letter · ABC Supply |
| May 1, 2026 | PABCO Roofing Products | Shingle products | up to 8% | letter · ABC Supply |
| Apr 23, 2026 | IKO | IKO is announcing a price increase, effective April 23, 2026, on the following products... | see letter | letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Apr 20, 2026 | Atlas | Roof Shingle Products | Surcharge $400 per truckload | letter · ABC Supply |
| Apr 15, 2026 | CertainTeed | Residential Roofing; Commercial Roofing CertainTeed - Residential Price Increase Announcement - Effective April 15, 2026 |
up to 8%; $400/truckload | letter · ABC Supply letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply Universal Supply |
| Apr 15, 2026 | GAF | Residential products; Residential Roofing GAF - Notice of Residential Products New Construction Builder Multi Family Price Increase - Effective April 15, 2026 |
$400/shipment; 5-8% | letter · ABC Supply letter · ABC Supply letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| Apr 15, 2026 | IKO | Residential roofing products | 5% - 8% | letter · ABC Supply letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors |
| Apr 8, 2026 | QXO | Residential products (QXO company-wide) As a result, we will be implementing price increases on applicable products, with shingles increasing up to 8% and accessories and other building products up to 12%. |
up to 8%, up to 12% | letter · QXO (formerly Beacon) |
| Apr 1, 2026 | Atlas | Roof Shingle Products Atlas - Roofing Price Increase - Effective April 1, 2026 |
5-8% | letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply Universal Supply |
| Apr 1, 2026 | Malarkey | Residential Roofing Products | up to 8% | letter · ABC Supply |
| Apr 1, 2026 | Owens Corning | Roofing products Owens Corning - Price Increase Announcement - Effective April 1, 2026 |
5-8% | letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| Mar 23, 2026 | TAMKO | Residential Roofing Products TAMKO - Bulletin Price Increase Residential Roofing New Construction Builder Multi Family - Effective March 23, 2026 |
4-5% | letter · ABC Supply letter · MAR Supply letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| Nov 1, 2025 | Atlas | has announced a price increase due to the tariffs of approximately $5.00 per roll tariff surcharge on Summit and Gorilla Guard Synthetic Underlayment. We will adjust our prices … | Surcharge $5.00 | Universal Supply |
| Oct 1, 2025 | Owens Corning | Synthetic Underlayment products has announced price increases due to the tariffs on Synthetic Underlayment products. We will adjust our prices effective on October 1, 2025. |
see letter | Universal Supply |
| May 1, 2025 | Malarkey | Residential roofing products | up to 5% | RidgeReport |
| Apr 1, 2025 | Atlas | shingles and accessory products has announced a price increase of approximately 7-10% on all shingles and accessory products. We will adjust our prices effective with shipments on April 1, 2025. |
approximately 7-10% | Universal Supply |
| Apr 1, 2025 | CertainTeed | Residential roofing products | up to 10% | RidgeReport |
| Apr 1, 2025 | CertainTeed Roofing | residential roofing products has announced a price increase of approximately 10% on all residential roofing products. We will adjust our prices effective with shipments on April 1, 2025. |
approximately 10% | Universal Supply |
| Apr 1, 2025 | GAF | Residential shingles & accessories (incl. new construction / multifamily) | 6–10% | RidgeReport letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| Apr 1, 2025 | IKO | Residential roofing products & accessories | 6–10% | RidgeReport |
| Apr 1, 2025 | Owens Corning | Shingles & roofing accessories (incl. new construction / multifamily) | 7–10% | RidgeReport Universal Supply |
| Apr 1, 2025 | Residential Roofing | The residential roofing suppliers will implement a price increase of up to 10%, effective April 1st, 2025, on Residential Roofing Shingles and Accessory products ... | up to 10% | letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Mar 17, 2025 | TAMKO | Residential roofing (incl. new construction / builder / multifamily) | 6–10% | RidgeReport |
| date not stated | Atlas | Freight Surcharge Increase | Surcharge see letter | letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| date not stated | GAF | see letter | letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors | |
| date not stated | Owens Corning | Synthetic Underlayment products has announced price increases due to the tariffs on Synthetic Underlayment products. The first increase will go into effect on September 15, 2025. The second increase will go in… |
see letter | Universal Supply |
| date not stated | TAMKO | As part of this adjustment, we will be discontinuing select products and will continue producing others that align with current industry needs. | see letter | letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors |