Asphalt Prices 2026: Asphalt (at Refinery) PPI +17.1% in 12 Months
The asphalt index was 291.5 in September 2026 (preliminary), up 17.1% from a year earlier (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics). Checked daily · last checked Oct 26, 2026.
Asphalt market: producer price indexes, last 12 months
Asphalt (refinery bitumen) follows crude oil and is the main input to paving mix and asphalt shingles. BLS publishes producer price indexes for all three; shingle makers usually announce increases in spring.
Lines: Asphalt (at refinery) and Asphalt roofing products producer price indexes, rebased to 100 at the start of the period shown. Bars: related manufacturer shingle and asphalt letters taking effect that month (right axis; PriceLetter tracks letters from December 2024).
What contractors pay: producer price indexes
The BLS indexes for the products contractors buy, the numbers most escalation clauses cite. Use the series ID to pull the official figures.
| Series | Latest | 1-month | 12-month | 3-year | Source / series ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asphalt | 291.5 p September 2026 | −2.4% | +17.1% | +9.7% | WPU058102 |
| Asphalt paving mixtures & blocks | 441.5 p September 2026 | +0.1% | +7.8% | +12.2% | PCU3241213241210 |
| Prepared asphalt and tar roofing and siding products | 333.2 p September 2026 | −2.0% | +2.7% | +6.1% | WPU13610131 |
| Crude oil, West Texas Intermediate, monthly average | $96.90/bbl September 2026 | +17.2% | +52.1% | +8.1% | World Bank Pink Sheet |
Related manufacturer shingle and asphalt letters (55)
Letters on file that mention asphalt, newest effective date first.
| Effective | Brand | Trade | Products | Increase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 26, 2026 next 30 days |
TAMKO | Roofing | Building Products Freight Surcharge Notice |
Surcharge $500 | Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Oct 19, 2026 | Owens Corning | Roofing | Residential Transportation Surcharge Increase |
Surcharge $300 → $350 per truckload | Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Oct 5, 2026 | GAF | Roofing | Residential Transportation Surcharge Increase |
Surcharge $500 per shipment | Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Oct 5, 2026 | IKO | Roofing | Asphalt products Transportation Surcharge Increase |
Surcharge $500–$900 per truckload | Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Oct 1, 2026 | CertainTeed | Roofing | Roofing Products | Surcharge $500 per truckload | Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Sep 21, 2026 | Atlas | Roofing | Shingles, Underlayments | Surcharge $500 per truckload | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Sep 17, 2026 | Malarkey | Roofing | Roofing Products | Surcharge $450 per truckload | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Jul 8, 2026 | Malarkey | Roofing | Roofing Products | Surcharge $350 per truckload | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Jul 1, 2026 | Atlas | Roofing | Roof Shingle Products; Low Slope Roofing | up to 10% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · FBEA / Building Envelope Associates |
| Jul 1, 2026 | GAF FT Solutions | Roofing | Roofing Accessories | see letter | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Jun 29, 2026 | GAF | Roofing | Price Escalator & Freight Surcharge | Surcharge $850 per truckload | Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| Jun 8, 2026 | TAMKO | Roofing | Residential Roofing Products; Residential roofing & waterproofing (incl. new construction / builder / multifamily) TAMKO - Bulletin Price Increase Residential Roofing New Construction Builder Multi Family - Effective June 8, 2026 |
up to 9% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors |
| Jun 1, 2026 | CertainTeed | Roofing | Residential Roofing; Residential roofing (incl. multifamily / new construction builder) Certainteed Roofing Products Price Increase Announcement - Effective June 1, 2026 |
up to 10% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| Jun 1, 2026 | GAF | Roofing | Residential Roofing Products; Residential Roofing; Shingles & roofing accessories (incl. Timbersteel, MasterFlow, FT Synthetic; new construction / multifamily) GAF - Residential Roofing Price Increase - Effective June 1, 2026 |
6-9%; 6–9% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors |
| Jun 1, 2026 | GAF & CertainTeed | Roofing | Shingles and Roofing CertainTeed and GAF are announcing a price increase of 6%-10% on all Shingles and Roofing Accessories, effective June 1st, 2026 ... |
6%-10% | Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Jun 1, 2026 | GAF Residential | Roofing | shingles and roofing products has announced a price increase of approximately 6-9% on all shingles and roofing products. We will adjust our prices effective with shipments on June 1, 2026. |
approximately 6-9% | Universal Supply |
| Jun 1, 2026 | IKO | Roofing | Residential roofing products; Residential roofing products & accessories IKO Price Increase - Effective June 1, 2026 |
6%-9%; 6–9% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors |
| Jun 1, 2026 | Owens Corning | Roofing | Roofing products; Roofing Products; Shingles & roofing accessories Owens Corning - Price Increase Announcement - Effective June 1, 2026 |
6-9%; $6.00-$8.04; 6–9% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| Jun 1, 2026 | PABCO Roofing Products | Roofing | Shingle and accessory PABCO Roofing Products is implementing a price increase of up to 8% on all shingle and accessory products effective June 1st, 2026... |
up to 8% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Jun 1, 2026 | Polyglass | Roofing | APP, SBS and SA Cap and Base; Mastics and Cement; Asphalt Membranes-Underlayments; Spray Foam Polyglass North America Price Adjustment - Effective June 1, 2026. APP, SBS and SA Cap and Base and Mastics and Cement 5-8%; Asphalt Membranes-Underlayments up to 5%; Spray Foam… |
5-8% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) Original letter · FBEA / Building Envelope Associates |
| Jun 1, 2026 | QXO | Roofing | Residential products (QXO company-wide) Shingle products will increase up to 9%, while siding, accessories, and other complementary building products will increase up to 10–12%. |
up to 9%, up to 10–12% | Original letter · QXO (formerly Beacon) |
| May 18, 2026 | Atlas | Roofing | Roof Shingle Products Atlas Shingle and Accessories Price Increase - Effective May 18, 2026 |
5-8% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| May 18, 2026 | Malarkey | Roofing | Residential Roofing Products; Residential roofing products Malarkey External Sales Announcement US Price Increase - Effective May 18, 2026 |
up to 10% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply RidgeReport |
| May 15, 2026 | GAF | Roofing | Streetbond products | Surcharge $450 | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| May 11, 2026 | Owens Corning | Roofing | Synthetic Underlayment | 5-9% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| May 4, 2026 | Continental Materials, Inc. | Roofing | Roofing Asphalt | 5-10% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| May 1, 2026 | PABCO Roofing Products | Roofing | Shingle products | up to 8% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Apr 20, 2026 | Atlas | Roofing | Roof Shingle Products | Surcharge $400 per truckload | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Apr 15, 2026 | CertainTeed | Roofing | Residential Roofing; Commercial Roofing CertainTeed - Residential Price Increase Announcement - Effective April 15, 2026 |
up to 8%; $400/truckload | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply Universal Supply Original letter · Carolina Atlantic (roofing) |
| Apr 15, 2026 | GAF | Roofing | Residential products; Residential Roofing GAF - Notice of Residential Products New Construction Builder Multi Family Price Increase - Effective April 15, 2026 |
$400/shipment; 5-8% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply Original letter · Carolina Atlantic (roofing) |
| Apr 15, 2026 | IKO | Roofing | Residential roofing products | 5% - 8% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors |
| Apr 8, 2026 | QXO | Roofing | Residential products (QXO company-wide) As a result, we will be implementing price increases on applicable products, with shingles increasing up to 8% and accessories and other building products up to 12%. |
up to 8%, up to 12% | Original letter · QXO (formerly Beacon) |
| Apr 6, 2026 | Karnak | Roofing | Asphalt products KARNAK - Price Increase Announcement - Effective April 6, 2026 |
1%-6% | Original letter · MAR Supply Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Apr 6, 2026 | Mid-States Asphalt | Roofing | Rolled Roofing MID-STATES ASPHALT Price Increase - Effective April 6, 2026 |
5-8% | Original letter · MAR Supply |
| Apr 3, 2026 | CMI | Roofing | Commercial roofing; Roofing Asphalt CMI - Asphalt Increase - Effective April 3, 2026 |
8-16% | Original letter · MAR Supply Original letter · MAR Supply |
| Apr 1, 2026 | Atlas | Roofing | Roof Shingle Products Atlas - Roofing Price Increase - Effective April 1, 2026 |
5-8% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply Universal Supply Original letter · Carolina Atlantic (roofing) |
| Apr 1, 2026 | Malarkey | Roofing | Residential Roofing Products | up to 8% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Apr 1, 2026 | Mid-States Asphalt | Roofing | Asphalt Mid-States Asphalt - Price Increase Announcement - Effective April 1, 2026 |
see letter | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply |
| Apr 1, 2026 | Owens Corning | Roofing | Roofing products Owens Corning - Price Increase Announcement - Effective April 1, 2026 |
5-8% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply Original letter · Carolina Atlantic (roofing) |
| Mar 23, 2026 | TAMKO | Roofing | Residential Roofing Products TAMKO - Bulletin Price Increase Residential Roofing New Construction Builder Multi Family - Effective March 23, 2026 |
4-5% | Original letter · ABC Supply Original letter · MAR Supply Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply Original letter · Carolina Atlantic (roofing) |
| Nov 1, 2025 | Atlas | Roofing | has announced a price increase due to the tariffs of approximately $5.00 per roll tariff surcharge on Summit and Gorilla Guard Synthetic Underlayment. We will adjust our prices … | Surcharge $5.00 | Universal Supply |
| Oct 1, 2025 | Owens Corning | Roofing | Synthetic Underlayment products has announced price increases due to the tariffs on Synthetic Underlayment products. We will adjust our prices effective on October 1, 2025. |
see letter | Universal Supply |
| May 1, 2025 | Malarkey | Roofing | Residential roofing products | up to 5% | RidgeReport |
| Apr 1, 2025 | Atlas | Roofing | shingles and accessory products has announced a price increase of approximately 7-10% on all shingles and accessory products. We will adjust our prices effective with shipments on April 1, 2025. |
approximately 7-10% | Universal Supply |
| Apr 1, 2025 | CertainTeed | Roofing | Residential roofing products | up to 10% | RidgeReport |
| Apr 1, 2025 | CertainTeed Roofing | Roofing | residential roofing products has announced a price increase of approximately 10% on all residential roofing products. We will adjust our prices effective with shipments on April 1, 2025. |
approximately 10% | Universal Supply |
| Apr 1, 2025 | GAF | Roofing | Residential shingles & accessories (incl. new construction / multifamily) | 6–10% | RidgeReport Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors Universal Supply |
| Apr 1, 2025 | IKO | Roofing | Residential roofing products & accessories | 6–10% | RidgeReport |
| Apr 1, 2025 | Owens Corning | Roofing | Shingles & roofing accessories (incl. new construction / multifamily) | 7–10% | RidgeReport Universal Supply |
| Apr 1, 2025 | Residential Roofing | Roofing | residential roofing shingles The residential roofing suppliers will implement a price increase of up to 10%, effective April 1st, 2025, on Residential Roofing Shingles and Accessory products ... |
up to 10% | Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Mar 17, 2025 | TAMKO | Roofing | Residential roofing (incl. new construction / builder / multifamily) | 6–10% | RidgeReport |
| date not stated | Atlas | Roofing | Freight Surcharge Increase | Surcharge see letter | Original letter · Gulfeagle Supply |
| date not stated | GAF | Roofing | see letter | Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors | |
| date not stated | Owens Corning | Roofing | Synthetic Underlayment products has announced price increases due to the tariffs on Synthetic Underlayment products. The first increase will go into effect on September 15, 2025. The second increase will go in… |
see letter | Universal Supply |
| date not stated | TAMKO | Roofing | As part of this adjustment, we will be discontinuing select products and will continue producing others that align with current industry needs. | see letter | Original letter · Mueller Roofing Distributors |
Frequently asked questions
What is the asphalt price index now?
The BLS asphalt index (WPU058102) was 291.5 in September 2026 (preliminary): −2.4% on the month and +17.1% over 12 months.
Are manufacturers raising asphalt product prices?
PriceLetter has 55 related letters on file; 41 took effect in the last 12 months. The full list is below with links to each original letter.
Sources: Metal and crude oil prices: World Bank, Commodity Price Data (the “Pink Sheet”), monthly averages, licensed under CC BY 4.0; metals converted from $ per metric ton to $ per lb by PriceLetter. Producer price indexes: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, not seasonally adjusted; values marked p are preliminary and BLS revises them for four months. BLS.gov cannot vouch for the data or analyses derived from these data after the data have been retrieved from BLS.gov. Checked daily; last checked Oct 26, 2026. Index changes are not the price any one supplier charges you; confirm prices with your supplier.