Construction Material Prices 2021: Latest Manufacturer Price Increases by Trade
The BLS producer price index for inputs to nonresidential construction, goods (WPUIP2312001) was 184.9 in September 2026 (preliminary), up 11.2% over 12 months and up 2.3% from the previous month.
Checked daily · last checked Nov 2, 2026.
194 building-product manufacturer price changes take effect in 2021 across 7 trades, with a median stated increase of 7% (97 letters state a %). The tables below add the BLS producer price indexes and, for each material, the 2021 letters that match that material's page.
Next BLS Producer Price Index release: Nov 13, 2026, 8:30 a.m. Eastern, for October 2026. BLS schedule.
BLS producer price indexes
Every BLS series PriceLetter stores. The 1-month and 12-month changes are computed from the stored index levels. A series name links to the material page that uses it.
| Series | Series ID | Latest | 1-month | 12-month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inputs to nonresidential construction, goods | WPUIP2312001 | 184.9 p September 2026 | +2.3% | +11.2% |
| Inputs to nonresidential construction, goods less foods and energy | WPUIP23120013 | 169.3 p September 2026 | +0.6% | +5.9% |
| Inputs to new nonresidential construction, excluding capital investment, labor, and imports | WPUIP231200 | 173.2 p September 2026 | +2.1% | +11.9% |
| Materials and components for construction | WPUID612 | 385.0 p September 2026 | +0.4% | +5.7% |
| Inputs to new construction, goods | WPUIP2310001 | 365.5 p September 2026 | +2.1% | +10.7% |
| Construction materials | WPUSI012011 | 378.6 p September 2026 | +0.7% | +11.0% |
| Aluminum mill shapes | WPU102501 | 370.5 p September 2026 | −0.1% | +25.2% |
| Asphalt | WPU058102 | 291.5 p September 2026 | −2.4% | +17.1% |
| Asphalt paving mixtures & blocks | PCU3241213241210 | 441.5 p September 2026 | +0.1% | +7.8% |
| Cement, hydraulic | WPU13220161 | 348.6 p September 2026 | 0.0% | −1.2% |
| Copper and brass mill shapes | WPU102502 | 835.3 p September 2026 | +1.4% | +30.0% |
| Copper and copper alloy pipe and tube | WPU10250239 | 406.2 April 2026 | 0.0% | – |
| Copper base scrap | WPU102301 | 1005.9 p September 2026 | +0.9% | +48.3% |
| Copper wire and cable | WPU10260314 | 607.7 p September 2026 | +0.8% | +30.8% |
| Extruded aluminum shapes, including rod, bar, and wire | WPU10250162 | 248.7 p September 2026 | −1.4% | +26.1% |
| Fabricated structural metal bar joists and concrete reinforcing bars | WPU1074051 | 408.0 p September 2026 | +4.9% | +30.0% |
| Fabricated structural metal products | WPU107 | 418.3 p September 2026 | +1.0% | +7.4% |
| Gypsum building materials | WPU13710102 | 367.0 p September 2026 | 0.0% | −0.4% |
| Gypsum products | WPU137 | 488.9 p September 2026 | +0.8% | +1.4% |
| Hot rolled steel bars, plates, and structural shapes | WPU101704 | 319.7 p September 2026 | +3.0% | +15.0% |
| Iron and steel | WPU101 | 383.3 p September 2026 | +1.5% | +20.7% |
| Iron and steel scrap | WPU1012 | 581.0 p September 2026 | −0.3% | +10.2% |
| Lumber | WPU081 | 282.3 p September 2026 | −1.4% | +8.7% |
| Midwest region ready-mix concrete | PCU327320327320B | 187.2 p September 2026 | +0.4% | +4.0% |
| No. 2 diesel fuel | WPU057303 | 675.6 p September 2026 | +24.2% | +115.2% |
| Northeast region ready-mix concrete | PCU327320327320A | 180.1 p September 2026 | 0.0% | +3.5% |
| Plastics pipe | WPU07210603 | 181.8 p September 2026 | −0.4% | +3.7% |
| Plastics pipe fittings and unions | WPU07210604 | 355.1 p September 2026 | +0.3% | +7.9% |
| Plywood | WPU083 | 303.7 p September 2026 | +1.8% | +12.6% |
| Prepared asphalt and tar roofing and siding products | WPU13610131 | 333.2 p September 2026 | −2.0% | +2.7% |
| Ready-mix concrete manufacturing | PCU327320327320 | 402.8 p September 2026 | 0.0% | +2.3% |
| Reconstituted wood product manufacturing | PCU321219321219 | 228.1 p September 2026 | +3.3% | +8.0% |
| Softwood lumber | WPU0811 | 288.6 p September 2026 | −2.0% | +14.2% |
| Softwood plywood products: rough, sanded, and specialties | WPU083103035 | 202.0 p September 2026 | +2.3% | +21.4% |
| South region ready-mix concrete | PCU327320327320C | 177.2 p September 2026 | −0.1% | +1.2% |
| Steel mill products | WPU1017 | 388.6 p September 2026 | +2.2% | +27.6% |
| Thermoplastic resins and plastics materials | WPU0662 | 278.1 p September 2026 | −1.7% | +6.7% |
| West region ready-mix concrete | PCU327320327320D | 185.3 p September 2026 | −0.2% | +2.2% |
Manufacturer letters vs the index, 2021
The 12-month change is the BLS series named in the row. Letter counts use the same match as that material's page. Upcoming means an effective date still ahead. The median is the stated percent on increase letters (a range counts at its midpoint).
| Material | Index, 12-month | Letters 2021 | Still upcoming | Median stated % |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copper | Copper wire and cable WPU10260314 +30.8% | 0 | 0 | – |
| Aluminum | Aluminum mill shapes WPU102501 +25.2% | 1 | 0 | 9% |
| Steel | Steel mill products WPU1017 +27.6% | 18 | 0 | 10% |
| Lumber | Softwood lumber WPU0811 +14.2% | 0 | 0 | – |
| Concrete | Ready-mix concrete (U.S.) PCU327320327320 +2.3% | 0 | 0 | – |
| Asphalt | Asphalt roofing products WPU13610131 +2.7% | 26 | 0 | 6% |
| PVC pipe | Plastics pipe WPU07210603 +3.7% | 2 | 0 | 5.5% |
| Drywall | Gypsum products WPU137 +1.4% | 0 | 0 | – |
| Diesel | No. 2 diesel (producer price index) WPU057303 +115.2% | 0 | 0 | – |
| Trade | Letters 2021 | Median stated % | Latest effective | Next effective |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrical Supply Prices | 74 | – | ABB (Dec 3, 2021) | – |
| Fire Sprinkler & Fire Protection Prices | 59 | 7.6% | ASC Engineered Solutions (Dec 20, 2021, 8%, 6%) | – |
| Roofing Material Prices | 35 | 6% | Henkel (Dec 8, 2021, 7-15%) | – |
| Siding Prices | 18 | 7% | Westlake (Oct 1, 2021, 10-12%, 2%) | – |
| Window & Door Prices | 5 | 6% | VinylMax (May 31, 2021, 4-5%) | – |
| Insulation Prices | 2 | 10% | DuPont (Dec 31, 2021, 10%, 7%) | – |
| Plumbing Supply Prices | 1 | 8.5% | Guardian (Dec 1, 2021, 8.5%) | – |
Still to take effect in 2021 (0)
Most recent increases already in effect
| Effective | Brand | Trade | Products | Increase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 31, 2021 | DuPont | Insulation | Convoy Supply (US) bulletin: Tyvek will implement a price increase, effective December 31, 2021, on the following products: All wraps and roofing - 10% All flashing - 7% All ord… | 10%, 7% | Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Dec 20, 2021 | ASC Engineered Solutions | Fire Protection | Core & Main Fire Protection notice (November 22, 2021): ASC Engineered Solutions has announced the below increases effective December 20, 2021. Lines: Gruvlok Fire Products – 8%… | 8%, 6% | Original letter · Core & Main Fire Protection |
| Dec 8, 2021 | Henkel | Roofing | Convoy Supply (US) bulletin: Henkel will implement a price increase of 7%-15%, effective December 8, 2021, on Loctite, GE Sealant and Adhesive products. | 7-15% | Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Dec 6, 2021 | Merit Brass | Fire Protection | Core & Main Fire Protection notice (November 22, 2021): Merit Brass has announced a 7% increase on all leaded and lead-free domestic red brass fittings effective December 6, 2021. | 7% | Original letter · Core & Main Fire Protection |
| Dec 3, 2021 | ABB | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from ABB Gear, effective December 3, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Dec 1, 2021 | Burndy | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Burndy, effective December 1, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Dec 1, 2021 | Erico | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from nVent CADDY ERICO, effective December 1, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Dec 1, 2021 | General Air Products | Fire Protection | Core & Main Fire Protection notice (October 14, 2021): General Air Products has announced the below increases effective December 1, 2021. Lines: Riser Mounted Compressors – 5% (… | see letter | Original letter · Core & Main Fire Protection |
| Dec 1, 2021 | Guardian | Plumbing & PVF | Convoy Supply (US) bulletin: Guardian will implement a price increase of 8.5%, effective December 1, 2021, on all products. All orders with the above products shipped on or afte… | 8.5% | Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Dec 1, 2021 | Insulfoam | Roofing | Convoy Supply (US) bulletin: Insulfoam will implement a price increase of 12%, effective December 1, 2021, on all products. All orders with the above products shipped on or afte… | 12% | Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Dec 1, 2021 | nVent: Caddy | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from nVent CADDY ERICO, effective December 1, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Dec 1, 2021 | Panduit | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Panduit, effective December 1, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Dec 1, 2021 | Potter Electric | Fire Protection | Core & Main Fire Protection notice (November 2, 2021): Potter Electric Signal has announced an average 3.5% increase on all products effective December 1, 2021. | 3.5% | Original letter · Core & Main Fire Protection |
| Dec 1, 2021 | TPI | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from TPI, effective December 1, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Dec 1, 2021 | Wattstopper | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Wattstopper, effective December 1, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Nov 22, 2021 | Brecco | Fire Protection | Core & Main Fire Protection notice (November 2, 2021): Brecco has announced the below increases effective November 22, 2021. Lines: AWWA UL/FM Valves – 12%; Pipe Hangers & Suppo… | see letter | Original letter · Core & Main Fire Protection |
| Nov 22, 2021 | Karnak | Roofing | Convoy Supply (US) bulletin: Due to unprecedented raw-material and transportation cost increases, Karnak will implement a price increase, effective November 22, 2021, on the fol… | see letter | Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Nov 15, 2021 | Acme | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Acme, effective November 15, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Nov 15, 2021 | Acuity Brands | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Acuity Brands, effective November 15, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Nov 15, 2021 | EcoStar | Roofing | Convoy Supply (US) bulletin: Eco Star will implement a price increase, effective November 15, 2021, on the following products: Majestic/Seneca products - 8% Empire lines - 12% A… | 8%, 12% | Original letter · Convoy Supply (US) |
| Nov 15, 2021 | Hammond | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Hammond, effective November 15, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Nov 15, 2021 | ITW Commercial Construction | Fire Protection | Core & Main Fire Protection notice (September 13, 2021): ITW Commercial Construction has announced an 8% increase on all Buildex, Red Head, Sammys, and Ramset products effective… | 8% | Original letter · Core & Main Fire Protection |
| Nov 15, 2021 | Lambro | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Lambro, effective November 15, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Nov 15, 2021 | Raco | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Raco, effective November 15, 2021. The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Nov 8, 2021 | ASC Engineered Solutions | Fire Protection | Core & Main Fire Protection notice (October 14, 2021): ASC Engineered Solutions has announced the below increases effective November 8, 2021. Lines: Anvil Pipe Hangers & Support… | see letter | Original letter · Core & Main Fire Protection |
Frequently asked questions
How much did nonresidential construction input prices change?
The BLS producer price index for inputs to nonresidential construction, goods (WPUIP2312001) was 184.9 in September 2026 (preliminary), up 11.2% over 12 months and up 2.3% from the previous month. Last checked Nov 2, 2026.
How many manufacturer price changes take effect in 2021?
194 manufacturer price changes on file take effect in 2021. 194 price changes take effect in 2021 across 7 trades. Across the 97 letters effective in 2021 that state a percentage, the median is 7%.
When is the next BLS Producer Price Index release?
The next Producer Price Index release on the BLS schedule is Nov 13, 2026, 8:30 a.m. Eastern, covering October 2026. BLS schedule.
How do manufacturer letters compare with the price indexes?
The letters-versus-index table puts each material's 12-month BLS change next to the 2021 letters that match that material's page, how many of those letters are still ahead, and the median stated percent. The match is the material page's own rule, including the whole Drywall and interiors trade. A price announcement is not counted as cement. Letters are list-price announcements. Indexes are producer prices.
Where do the figures on this page come from?
Letter counts, dates and stated percents are computed from the PriceLetter database. Index levels and the 1-month and 12-month changes are computed from the BLS producer price indexes stored from the public BLS API. Those indexes were last checked Nov 2, 2026.
Sources: Producer price indexes: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, not seasonally adjusted; values marked p are preliminary and BLS revises them for four months. BLS.gov cannot vouch for the data or analyses derived from these data after the data have been retrieved from BLS.gov. Checked daily; last checked Nov 2, 2026. Index changes are not the price any one supplier charges you; confirm prices with your supplier.