Construction Material Prices 2023: Latest Manufacturer Price Increases by Trade
The BLS producer price index for inputs to nonresidential construction, goods (WPUIP2312001) was 184.9 in September 2026 (preliminary), up 11.2% over 12 months and up 2.3% from the previous month.
Checked daily · last checked Nov 2, 2026.
102 building-product manufacturer price changes take effect in 2023 across 8 trades, with a median stated increase of 6% (50 letters state a %). The tables below add the BLS producer price indexes and, for each material, the 2023 letters that match that material's page.
Next BLS Producer Price Index release: Nov 13, 2026, 8:30 a.m. Eastern, for October 2026. BLS schedule.
BLS producer price indexes
Every BLS series PriceLetter stores. The 1-month and 12-month changes are computed from the stored index levels. A series name links to the material page that uses it.
| Series | Series ID | Latest | 1-month | 12-month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inputs to nonresidential construction, goods | WPUIP2312001 | 184.9 p September 2026 | +2.3% | +11.2% |
| Inputs to nonresidential construction, goods less foods and energy | WPUIP23120013 | 169.3 p September 2026 | +0.6% | +5.9% |
| Inputs to new nonresidential construction, excluding capital investment, labor, and imports | WPUIP231200 | 173.2 p September 2026 | +2.1% | +11.9% |
| Materials and components for construction | WPUID612 | 385.0 p September 2026 | +0.4% | +5.7% |
| Inputs to new construction, goods | WPUIP2310001 | 365.5 p September 2026 | +2.1% | +10.7% |
| Construction materials | WPUSI012011 | 378.6 p September 2026 | +0.7% | +11.0% |
| Aluminum mill shapes | WPU102501 | 370.5 p September 2026 | −0.1% | +25.2% |
| Asphalt | WPU058102 | 291.5 p September 2026 | −2.4% | +17.1% |
| Asphalt paving mixtures & blocks | PCU3241213241210 | 441.5 p September 2026 | +0.1% | +7.8% |
| Cement, hydraulic | WPU13220161 | 348.6 p September 2026 | 0.0% | −1.2% |
| Copper and brass mill shapes | WPU102502 | 835.3 p September 2026 | +1.4% | +30.0% |
| Copper and copper alloy pipe and tube | WPU10250239 | 406.2 April 2026 | 0.0% | – |
| Copper base scrap | WPU102301 | 1005.9 p September 2026 | +0.9% | +48.3% |
| Copper wire and cable | WPU10260314 | 607.7 p September 2026 | +0.8% | +30.8% |
| Extruded aluminum shapes, including rod, bar, and wire | WPU10250162 | 248.7 p September 2026 | −1.4% | +26.1% |
| Fabricated structural metal bar joists and concrete reinforcing bars | WPU1074051 | 408.0 p September 2026 | +4.9% | +30.0% |
| Fabricated structural metal products | WPU107 | 418.3 p September 2026 | +1.0% | +7.4% |
| Gypsum building materials | WPU13710102 | 367.0 p September 2026 | 0.0% | −0.4% |
| Gypsum products | WPU137 | 488.9 p September 2026 | +0.8% | +1.4% |
| Hot rolled steel bars, plates, and structural shapes | WPU101704 | 319.7 p September 2026 | +3.0% | +15.0% |
| Iron and steel | WPU101 | 383.3 p September 2026 | +1.5% | +20.7% |
| Iron and steel scrap | WPU1012 | 581.0 p September 2026 | −0.3% | +10.2% |
| Lumber | WPU081 | 282.3 p September 2026 | −1.4% | +8.7% |
| Midwest region ready-mix concrete | PCU327320327320B | 187.2 p September 2026 | +0.4% | +4.0% |
| No. 2 diesel fuel | WPU057303 | 675.6 p September 2026 | +24.2% | +115.2% |
| Northeast region ready-mix concrete | PCU327320327320A | 180.1 p September 2026 | 0.0% | +3.5% |
| Plastics pipe | WPU07210603 | 181.8 p September 2026 | −0.4% | +3.7% |
| Plastics pipe fittings and unions | WPU07210604 | 355.1 p September 2026 | +0.3% | +7.9% |
| Plywood | WPU083 | 303.7 p September 2026 | +1.8% | +12.6% |
| Prepared asphalt and tar roofing and siding products | WPU13610131 | 333.2 p September 2026 | −2.0% | +2.7% |
| Ready-mix concrete manufacturing | PCU327320327320 | 402.8 p September 2026 | 0.0% | +2.3% |
| Reconstituted wood product manufacturing | PCU321219321219 | 228.1 p September 2026 | +3.3% | +8.0% |
| Softwood lumber | WPU0811 | 288.6 p September 2026 | −2.0% | +14.2% |
| Softwood plywood products: rough, sanded, and specialties | WPU083103035 | 202.0 p September 2026 | +2.3% | +21.4% |
| South region ready-mix concrete | PCU327320327320C | 177.2 p September 2026 | −0.1% | +1.2% |
| Steel mill products | WPU1017 | 388.6 p September 2026 | +2.2% | +27.6% |
| Thermoplastic resins and plastics materials | WPU0662 | 278.1 p September 2026 | −1.7% | +6.7% |
| West region ready-mix concrete | PCU327320327320D | 185.3 p September 2026 | −0.2% | +2.2% |
Manufacturer letters vs the index, 2023
The 12-month change is the BLS series named in the row. Letter counts use the same match as that material's page. Upcoming means an effective date still ahead. The median is the stated percent on increase letters (a range counts at its midpoint).
| Material | Index, 12-month | Letters 2023 | Still upcoming | Median stated % |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copper | Copper wire and cable WPU10260314 +30.8% | 0 | 0 | – |
| Aluminum | Aluminum mill shapes WPU102501 +25.2% | 0 | 0 | – |
| Steel | Steel mill products WPU1017 +27.6% | 10 | 0 | 8% |
| Lumber | Softwood lumber WPU0811 +14.2% | 0 | 0 | – |
| Concrete | Ready-mix concrete (U.S.) PCU327320327320 +2.3% | 0 | 0 | – |
| Asphalt | Asphalt roofing products WPU13610131 +2.7% | 18 | 0 | 5% |
| PVC pipe | Plastics pipe WPU07210603 +3.7% | 6 | 0 | – |
| Drywall | Gypsum products WPU137 +1.4% | 1 | 0 | 10% |
| Diesel | No. 2 diesel (producer price index) WPU057303 +115.2% | 1 | 0 | – |
| Trade | Letters 2023 | Median stated % | Latest effective | Next effective |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrical Supply Prices | 45 | – | Atkore (Dec 11, 2023) | – |
| Roofing Material Prices | 23 | 6% | Owens Corning (Oct 1, 2023, 5-8%) | – |
| Fire Sprinkler & Fire Protection Prices | 22 | 6.5% | AGF Manufacturing (Oct 1, 2023, 6%-8%) | – |
| Fencing Prices | 5 | 5% | Ameristar (May 2, 2023, 8%) | – |
| Siding Prices | 4 | 5% | CertainTeed (Aug 1, 2023, up to 5%) | – |
| Insulation Prices | 1 | 6% | Rockwool (Feb 1, 2023, 6%) | – |
| HVAC Equipment Prices | 1 | 15% | System Sensor (Nov 15, 2023, 15%) | – |
| Drywall Prices | 1 | 10% | EB Metal/Super Stud (Apr 3, 2023, minimum 10%) | – |
Still to take effect in 2023 (0)
Most recent increases already in effect
| Effective | Brand | Trade | Products | Increase | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 11, 2023 | Atkore | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Atkore – Steel Conduit, effective December 11, 2023 (notification dated December 8, 2023). The listing does no… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Dec 4, 2023 | Atkore | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Atkore – Steel Conduit, effective December 4, 2023 (notification dated December 1, 2023). The listing does not… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Dec 1, 2023 | Greenlee | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Greenlee, effective December 1, 2023 (notification dated December 4, 2023). The listing does not state a perce… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Dec 1, 2023 | Ridgid | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Ridgid Tools, effective December 1, 2023 (notification dated December 4, 2023). The listing does not state a p… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Nov 20, 2023 | Atkore | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Atkore – Steel Conduit, effective November 20, 2023 (notification dated November 16, 2023). The listing does n… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Nov 15, 2023 | System Sensor | HVAC | Legacy L-Series strobes and horn strobes System Sensor bulletin M23.2SS (October 2023): legacy L-Series strobes and horn strobes remain available until December 15, 2023 or while supplies last, with a 15% price increas… |
15% | Original letter · Honeywell Building Technologies |
| Nov 2, 2023 | Atkore | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Atkore – Steel Conduit, effective November 2, 2023 (notification dated November 2, 2023). The listing does not… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Oct 30, 2023 | Atkore | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Atkore – PVC Conduit, effective October 30, 2023 (notification dated August 25, 2023). The listing does not st… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Oct 2, 2023 | Atkore | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Atkore – Steel Conduit, effective October 2, 2023 (notification dated September 29, 2023). The listing does no… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Oct 2, 2023 | Wattstopper | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Wattstopper, effective October 2, 2023 (notification dated August 18, 2023). The listing does not state a perc… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Oct 1, 2023 | AGF Manufacturing | Fire Protection | Core & Main Fire Protection notice (September 15, 2023): AGF Manufacturing has announced an approximate 6%-8% increase on all products effective October 1, 2023. | 6%-8% | Original letter · Core & Main Fire Protection |
| Oct 1, 2023 | Owens Corning | Roofing | Owens Corning letter posted by ABC Supply: Owens Corning Sales, LLC is announcing a price increase of 5 to 8 percent on all shingle and roofing accessory products, effective Oct… | 5-8% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Sep 18, 2023 | Atlas | Roofing | Atlas letter posted by ABC Supply: Due to this rise in transportation cost, Atlas is announcing a $75 per truckload increase in freight surcharge, effective with all shipments s… | Surcharge see letter | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Sep 15, 2023 | Johnson Controls | Fire Protection | Core & Main Fire Protection notice (August 31, 2023): Johnson Controls (Tyco) has announced the below increases effective September 15, 2023. Lines: Water & Mechanical – 6%, exc… | see letter | Original letter · Core & Main Fire Protection |
| Sep 5, 2023 | Atkore | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Atkore PVC, effective September 5, 2023 (notification dated August 30, 2023). The listing does not state a per… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Aug 7, 2023 | GAF | Roofing | GAF letter posted by ABC Supply: GAF is announcing a price increase of 5-7% on all residential roofing products, effective August 07, 2023. | 5-7% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Aug 7, 2023 | IKO | Roofing | IKO letter posted by ABC Supply: IKO will be implementing a price increase of 5% - 7% for residential roofing products and accessories effective with shipments on August 7, 2023. | 5-7% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Aug 7, 2023 | Malarkey | Roofing | Malarkey letter posted by ABC Supply: price increase of 5-8% effective August 7, 2023. | 5-8% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Aug 7, 2023 | TAMKO | Roofing | TAMKO letter posted by ABC Supply: Due to the continued rise in costs, TAMKO Building Products will increase pricing up to 5-8% on all Residential Roofing and Waterproofing Prod… | up to 5-8% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Aug 1, 2023 | Atlas | Roofing | Atlas letter posted by ABC Supply: Atlas is announcing a 5% to 7% price increase for all shingle and accessory products, effective August 1, 2023. | 5-7% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Aug 1, 2023 | CertainTeed | Siding | CertainTeed letter posted by ABC Supply: CertainTeed will increase prices on residential roofing products by up to 5% effective August 1, 2023. | up to 5% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Aug 1, 2023 | Kidde Firex | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Kidde Firex, effective August 1, 2023 (notification dated June 5, 2023). The listing does not state a percentage. | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
| Aug 1, 2023 | Owens Corning | Roofing | Owens Corning letter posted by ABC Supply: Owens Corning Sales, LLC is announcing a price increase of 5 to 8 percent on all shingle and Owens Corning branded roofing accessory p… | 5-8% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Aug 1, 2023 | PABCO Roofing Products | Roofing | PABCO Roofing Products letter posted by ABC Supply: Due to continued and ongoing pressure on production and delivery costs, PABCO® Roofing Products is implementing a price incre… | up to 6% | Original letter · ABC Supply |
| Jul 31, 2023 | Atkore | Electrical | Womack Electric Supply's Market Watch listed a price increase from Atkore – PVC Conduit, effective July 31, 2023 (notification dated July 21, 2023). The listing does not state a… | see letter | Original letter · Womack Electric Supply |
Frequently asked questions
How much did nonresidential construction input prices change?
The BLS producer price index for inputs to nonresidential construction, goods (WPUIP2312001) was 184.9 in September 2026 (preliminary), up 11.2% over 12 months and up 2.3% from the previous month. Last checked Nov 2, 2026.
How many manufacturer price changes take effect in 2023?
102 manufacturer price changes on file take effect in 2023. 102 price changes take effect in 2023 across 8 trades. Across the 50 letters effective in 2023 that state a percentage, the median is 6%.
When is the next BLS Producer Price Index release?
The next Producer Price Index release on the BLS schedule is Nov 13, 2026, 8:30 a.m. Eastern, covering October 2026. BLS schedule.
How do manufacturer letters compare with the price indexes?
The letters-versus-index table puts each material's 12-month BLS change next to the 2023 letters that match that material's page, how many of those letters are still ahead, and the median stated percent. The match is the material page's own rule, including the whole Drywall and interiors trade. A price announcement is not counted as cement. Letters are list-price announcements. Indexes are producer prices.
Where do the figures on this page come from?
Letter counts, dates and stated percents are computed from the PriceLetter database. Index levels and the 1-month and 12-month changes are computed from the BLS producer price indexes stored from the public BLS API. Those indexes were last checked Nov 2, 2026.
Sources: Producer price indexes: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, not seasonally adjusted; values marked p are preliminary and BLS revises them for four months. BLS.gov cannot vouch for the data or analyses derived from these data after the data have been retrieved from BLS.gov. Checked daily; last checked Nov 2, 2026. Index changes are not the price any one supplier charges you; confirm prices with your supplier.