Utility Rate Changes
29 utilities in the pilot. Upcoming and recent electric, gas, water, sewer, stormwater and trash changes, with residential and commercial listed separately. A percent appears only when the source states it. Proposed rows stay labeled until a regulator or council approves them.
All servicesElectricGasWaterSewerStormwaterTrashCommercial
All classesResidentialCommercialAll customers
Upcoming
Includes proposed and settled rows that are not approved yet.
| Effective | Utility | Service | Class | Status | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 1, 2027 | Duke Energy Carolinas | Electric | All customers | Settled, pending approval | Settlement states 3.7%. This figure is not approved | Source |
Recent approved changes
| Effective | Utility | Service | Class | Status | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 1, 2026 | DC Water | Water | Residential | Approved | Approved 5.9%. Requested 7.5%. $147.16 to $155.88 | Source |
| Sep 1, 2026 | Philadelphia Water Department | Water | Residential | Approved | Approved 7.5%. $89.42 to $96.16 | Source |
| Jul 1, 2026 | New York City Water Board | Water | All customers | Approved | Approved 6.0% | Source |
| Jun 1, 2026 | Chicago water and sewer | Water | All customers | Approved | Approved 1.85%. Stated amount $37.18 per 1,000 cubic feet | Source |
| June 2026 | Georgia Power | Electric | Residential | Approved | Approved. No percent stated | Source |
| Apr 1, 2026 | Houston Public Works | Water | All customers | Approved | Approved 7.87% | Source |
| Mar 1, 2026 | PG&E | Electric | Residential | Approved | Approved 2.5% decrease. $208.68 to $203.54 | Source |
| Jan 1, 2026 | San Diego Public Utilities | Water | All customers | Approved | Approved 14.7% | Source |
| Jan 1, 2026 | PG&E | Electric | Residential | Approved | Approved 5.0% decrease. $219.72 to $208.68 | Source |
| Jan 1, 2026 | Florida Power & Light | Electric | Residential | Approved | Approved $2.50 a month. No percent stated. Stated amount $136.64 | Source |
| Jan 1, 2026 | Con Edison | Gas | All customers | Approved | Approved 2.0% | Source |
| Jan 1, 2026 | Con Edison | Electric | Commercial | Approved | Approved 3.1%. Requested 10.9% | Source |
| Jan 1, 2026 | Con Edison | Electric | Residential | Approved | Approved 3.4%. Requested 13.4% | Source |
| Jan 1, 2026 | Dominion Energy Virginia | Electric | Residential | Approved | Approved 7.5%. Requested 9.8% | Source |
No effective date stated
| Effective | Utility | Service | Class | Status | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Date not stated | Xcel Energy Minnesota | Electric | All customers | Approved | Approved 3.4%. Requested 3.6% | Source |
| Date not stated | Nicor Gas | Gas | All customers | Approved | Approved. No percent stated | Source |
| Date not stated | Atlanta Department of Watershed Management | Water | All customers | Approved | Approved 0% (no change) | Source |
Pilot utilities
- Atlanta Department of Watershed Management GA
- Austin Water TX
- Chicago water and sewer IL
- Columbia Gas of Ohio OH
- Columbus Public Utilities OH
- ComEd IL
- Con Edison NY
- DC Water DC
- DTE Electric MI
- Dallas Water Utilities TX
- Denver Water CO
- Dominion Energy Virginia VA
- Duke Energy Carolinas NC
- Duke Energy Progress NC
- Florida Power & Light FL
- Georgia Power GA
- Houston Public Works TX
- Los Angeles Department of Water and Power CA
- New York City Water Board NY
- Nicor Gas IL
- PG&E CA
- Peoples Gas IL
- Philadelphia Water Department PA
- Phoenix Water Services AZ
- Portland Water Bureau OR
- San Antonio Water System TX
- San Diego Public Utilities CA
- SoCalGas CA
- Xcel Energy Minnesota MN
Frequently asked questions
Are proposed utility rate changes shown as if they were approved?
No. A proposed row is labeled Proposed, not approved. A settlement that still needs a commission decision is labeled Settled, pending approval. The percent on those rows is the requested or settlement figure, not an approved rate.
Are residential and commercial utility changes listed separately?
Yes, when the source states them separately. A row labeled all customers means the source did not publish a separate commercial percent.
Does PriceLetter calculate a utility percent from a dollar change?
No. A percent is shown only when the cited source states it. If the source gives dollars and no percent, the page shows the dollars.